Pray AND Work

I grew up being taught that you gain as much as you work, laziness leads only to failures, and I’ve taken up the habit of taking my responsibility to work for my goals seriously. Back then I wasn’t a believer. I believed that everything I gained was due to my hardwork, and hardwork alone. I planned my successes, I planned my path, I planned by future.  I remember that during one of my years in highschool, there was a quote painted on the ceiling and I saw it everyday of school: no pain, no gain. Obviously I agreed whole heartedly.

Coming to faith didn’t take that part of me away but it did modify the concept. I believe that faith is having done your part and trust God with the results, not having done nothing and expect God to clean up the mess or throw successes at you because you pray for them. Yes, He can do that because He can do everything. But is that what He wants from us? One thing for sure, there’s absolutely nothing in the Bible which encourages laziness or forgoing of duties. Instead, we are told to work as if everything is for Him.

The sluggard craves and gets nothing,
but the desires of the diligent are fully satisfied. (Proverbs 13:4 NIV1984)

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, (Colossians 3:23 NIV1984)

Hence, the quote above has become sort of like my motto which motivates me to cultivate and exercise diligence, with my eyes fixed on Jesus.

p/s There’s some dispute over the author of this quote. Post will be updated once doubts are cleared.

Leave a Reply

