Humility is the way

I will never forget that sentence my dad replied when I told him how hurt I felt, a couple of years ago. He said, “failure doesn’t hurt us, our pride does.”

I took a few seconds for this to sink in.

Why do I despair when I don’t achieve what I strive hard to achieve? Why do I cry in pain when failures strike and negligence felt? Why do I demand attention and rewards in everyday life?

Because I think I DESERVE them. Every cell in my brain cries out in pride for what they think they’re good enough to get! But the Bible is full of reminder for us to be humble, to dress ourselves in humility. By God’s standard, none of us should deserve anything, but He gives us everything we have.

Humility is a difficult trait to put on, and I’m not sure I’ve grasped the essence of it. But today I want to remind myself this hard fact, against the roaring voices of protest from my prideful and rebellious brain cells: “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” (see 1 Peter 5:5), so be humble… that’s what God wants to see in His beloved children. 

p/s I just realised that this photo was explored on Flickr on 23rd January 2013 as #278.  It might not be an extraordinary achievement but I praise God for this encouragement!

5 thoughts on “Humility is the way

  1. Pingback: Humility is the way « Make a Difference!

    • Hi Déya! Thanks for visiting and thank God that my little thoughts served to encourage you! I’ve visited your blog and I really like it! May you continue to use your gifts to serve God and serve His purpose! =)

  2. dont really know how I ran to your post but I am truly blessed by it. keep doing your thing,and May the lords peace and grace be with you always.

Leave a Reply

